Skip to main content

Columbus State President receives Phi Theta Kappa award

Campus News | Monday, April 23, 2018

Columbus State Community College President David Harrison is among the 2018 recipients of the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction presented by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. Harrison received the award at the organization’s annual convention April 19-21 in Kansas City, Missouri.

Given to 35 community college presidents nationwide, the Shirley B. Gordon award honors college presidents who have demonstrated outstanding effort toward promoting the goals of Phi Theta Kappa, the leading honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges.

“This is a very well-deserved honor for Dr. Harrison,” said Columbus State Board Chair Robert P. Restrepo, Jr. “His commitment to academic rigor and achievement informs everything we do within our student-first culture. Columbus State takes enormous pride in his leadership and ambassador role on behalf of the College.”

“Our Phi Theta Kappa students are among the most active leaders at Columbus State,” Harrison said. “Our students and their advisors work hard to ensure a culture of excellence and service. It is an honor to be recognized as a Shirley B. Gordon honoree on behalf of the great work of our faculty, staff, and students.”

Harrison’s award is named in honor of the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, longtime chair of the Phi Theta Kappa Board of Directors and president emeritus of Highline College in Washington.

Phi Theta Kappa is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in nine nations.


Go to 2018 Archive Go to Campus News