Skip to main content

Columbus State Concert Band to present special Autumn Concert

Update | Tuesday, November 16, 2021

The Columbus State Concert Band’s upcoming annual Autumn Concert will feature the first performance of “Lost Prayer." It was composed by long-time Columbus State faculty member Rocco Di Pietro and was written especially for the Concert Band and is dedicated to its director, Thomas Lloyd.

Additional features that evening will include guest artist Olev Viro who will perform "Being 3" for solo violin, a companion piece also composed by Di Pietro.  

The program will include two other new works, co-commissioned by Columbus State, "Where Words Cannot Go" by Columbus resident Dr. Nicole Piunno, and "Reunion" by Giovanni Santos.

The band will play Lloyd's arrangement of the famous "Carolina Fox Trot," composed in 1914 by African-American composer Will Vodery. Selections from "The Mandalorian" will also be heard.

The concert will be held on Tuesday, November 30 at 7 p.m. in the fourth floor Ballroom of WD. The performance will also be livestreamed at

For more information, contact Thomas Lloyd at


Go to 2021 Update Archive Go to Employee Update


Latest Update Stories