Skip to main content

Columbus State graduates first 10,000 Small Businesses cohort

Update | Tuesday, August 25, 2020

On July 23, Columbus State’s Goldman Sachs 10,000 Small Businesses program graduated its first cohort group in a statewide virtual event. The 23 Columbus State alumni were celebrated along with 10,000 Small Business graduates from Cuyahoga Community College (CCC) and Cincinnati State Community College. President Harrison was joined by Alex Johnson from CCC and Monica Posey from Cincinnati State for the diploma presentations.  

The graduates also had the opportunity to participate in virtual roundtables with U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown, Goldman Sachs CEO David Solomon, U.S. Congresswoman Joyce Beatty, Columbus City Council President Pro Tempore Elizabeth Brown, Columbus Councilman Emmanuel Remy, and Dayton Mayor Nan Whaley.

Columbus State will be welcoming the second cohort to the program on September 8. That cohort will be combined with the first cohort at Sinclair Community College in Dayton. The 39 students will be taught virtually for the semester.

The Goldman Sachs 10,000 Small Businesses program was created to help entrepreneurs create jobs and economic opportunities in their communities by providing them access to education, capital, and the business support services necessary to make that happen. Program tuition is offered at no cost to the business owner. Accepted applicants receive hands-on education for business growth, access to highly-trained professionals who understand what it takes to grow a small business, and an expanded peer network of small business owners from across the country.

To learn more about the program and its impact, visit this link online.

For questions about the program contact Stephanie Hall. 


Go to 2020 Update Archive Go to Employee Update


Latest Update Stories