Monday, April 28, 2008

Spring In-Service ’08 talks “tech” and makes awardsThe annual Spring In-Service Day was all about technology, but it was the personal touch that earned faculty members the Distinguished Teaching Award this year – as noted by their student nominators.  This year’s award winners were Susan Rosh, adjunct instructor in Mathematics, Dr. Tom Habegger, professor in Sports and Exercise Studies, Dr. Tom Shanahan, professor in Paralegal Studies, and Mary Lewis, an adjunct instructor in the Social and Behavioral Studies.  Chuck Wilson, coordinator of the Ford ASSET program in Automotive Technology, was named Staff Employee of the Year. 

distinguished facultySusan Rosh, Thomas Habegger, Ph.D., and, Thomas Shanahan, J.D., accept their Distinguished Teaching Awards at the 2008 Spring In-Service presentation. Not pictured is Mary Lewis.
David Staley
Dr. David J. Staley makes a point during his keynote presentation at Spring In-Service.
Sonia Shah
Investigative reporter Sonia Shah gave a special student-oriented speech to kick off the annual Writers Conference, which began later Friday evening April 25 and continued through Saturday. Shah also gave a keynote address to Conference attendees Friday evening. The Writers Conference sessions ran all day Saturday.
Dr. Moeller gets roses
Dr. Moeller receives roses from Martin Barry as the crowd sings her happy birthday.

Open enrollment begins for health, vision,
dental and flexible spending accounts
uhc logoThe Human Resources Department reports
that, due to the college’s Wellness
Initiatives, consumerism by employees,
employee demographics and advice
from USI Midwest, the college has been able to negotiate the smallest
increase in eight years, just 6 percent,  from United Healthcare.

The Open Enrollment sessions for health, vision, dental and flexible
spending will be available to all full-time employees on Wednesday,
April 30,
at 9 a.m., 11a.m. and 2 p.m. in WD Room 409; and
Thursday, May 15, at 9 a.m., 11a.m. and 2 p.m. in WD Room 409.

As announced last year the college will be eliminating the Alternate
2 buy-up plan
. The plan designs for the Health Savings Account
option and the Core plan will remain the same. The college will
continue to contribute $1,000 for single and $2,000 for family into employees’ HSAs.
All employees currently enrolled in the Alternate 2 Buy-up plan will need to select the HSA or the Core plan option. Representatives from USI Midwest and United Healthcare also will be available at the upcoming enrollment meetings.

The college will be renewing the current dental insurance plan with Delta Dental. The premiums are increasing by 2.59 percent.

Effective July 1, 2008, Columbus State will be offering voluntary vision insurance with Vision Service Plan (VSP). Due to the savings in healthcare, the college will pay 50 percent of the premium this year. This benefit is very popular with other organizations in our area. Representatives from VSP will make presentations at the enrollment meetings as well.

This is also the Open Enrollment for the Flexible Spending Account. A representative from TASC will be present at these meetings.

If you would like to enroll in the health plan, add or drop dependents or cancel your coverage, now is the time to do so. Please pick up an enrollment form in Human Resources or go to the Web site, using “CSCC” as the sign-on and “Benefits” as the password and download the forms from there.

If you do not need to make any changes, your plan will automatically renew unless you are currently in the Alternate 2 plan. All forms must be returned to Human Resources by May 23.  There will be no exceptions to this deadline.

Cougar Tracks employee orientation program offered May 2The Linkages employee orientation program is open to all employees of the college, new and current. The next session will be May 2 from 8:30–10 a.m. The topic will be professional development, presented by India Ashley and J.D. White, in WD 407. In the Linkages program, departments in the college present information on various topics to help inform new employees and update current employees about their departments. If you would like your department featured in the Linkages program, please contact India Ashley .


Wellness logoWellness Initiative Body Challenge III under wayIn the third Wellness Challenge, 170 college employees are working to gain wellness points—and maybe lose a couple of inches—over the next few months. Wellness points are given for various types of wellness activities and for the number of steps taken (using pedometers) per day. The Wellness Challenge runs March 31–June 6. Each member of the winning team will receive a $35 Dicks Sporting Goods gift certificate. The teams are (team captains in bold):


HR Knock Outs

India Ashley
Nichole Bowman-Glover
Tonya Brown
Tahia Chhuom
Tina Davis
Terri Miller
Ami Vanderyt
Julie VanWynsberghe
Twila Wiley
Steven Zelenka

HR Terminators

Nichole Bowman-Glover
Amy Burns
Lou Ann Carman
Mary Johnson
Sandy Kellam
Jason Love
Mary Francis McLaughlin
Becky Ribble
Tim Wagner
April Alexander

Information Overloads

Susan Auddino
Martin Barry
Paul Boaz
Danielle Buckius
Eric Davis
Laurinda Gruber
Angel Jackson
Kim Legget
Linda Toberts
Kelly Shelton


Brains & Brawn

Corey Apling
Daryl Brown
Jason Clever
Missy Creed
Tracy Kemp
Hokung Lee
Bruce Massis
Jean McKenzie
Shannon Somogye
Shona Wainwright

Mission Control

Stephanie Albrecht
Carla Ardinger
Michelle Bernett
Jeanne Crocker
Susan Difrancesco
Jan Ellis
Regina Harper
Jean Liddle
Nome Stillwell
Suzanne Von Ahn

Darla's Darlings

Jean Baker
Jerri Heine
Darla Van Horn
Jay Imbody
Bob Justus
Luis Latoja
Marie Potts
Gilberto Serrano
Lori Trent
Cynthia Tucker


Darla's Darlings #2

Wayne Cocchi
Mary Ellen
Michelle Kohar
Ron Lofton
Nellie Nelson
Richard Penny
Tiffany McClain
Robert Ream
Michael Little
Timeka Rashid


Kimberly Brazwell
Analeah Charles
Renee Hampton
Deborah Lowe
Joyce Mines
Stacey Rogers
Donna Robinson
Julie Sullivan
Carla Tatum
Tywan Banks

Discovery Exchange Warriors

Tony Belleau
Ben Botte
Charles Braithwaite
Sherita Golden
Stacey Mulinex
Phil Sanders
Gary Sheppard
Preston Smith
Mitchell Thompson
Michael Walsdorf


The Splatters

Nancy Cleland
Tony Goins
Vanessa Hoover
Vickie Hunter
Will Kopp
Suzanne May
Paul Rehg
Barbara Smith-Allen
Giselle White
Valerie Wilson

Eating PI

Jonathan Baker
Beth Barnett
Greg Burlile
Kelley Harding
Terri Kegley
Amanda Lahue
Betsy McCall
Susan Rosh
Kristi Schmid
Julia Shew

Physically Pffft

Jennifer Barker
Emily Cox
Bradley Farmer
Cindy Klimek
Tim Lunsford
Maggie O'Brien
Debbie Pond
Debbie Strain
Betty Sugar
Frank Sugar


Magnificient 10

Patty Baker
Terence Brown
Connie Clark
James (Rob) Duffey
Kelly Fannin
Joe Gerardi
Carla Mayers
Tina Spencer
Shawndeia Thomas
Leslie Washington

The Nightingales

Susan Accetturro
Carol Beneker
Dana Beuchner
Lorraine Boyd
Connie Doughty
Kathy Eichenburger
Shirley Keckley
Barbara Kerr
Rita Krummen
Jackie Miller

The Nightingale #2

Angie Tracy
Jan Wagner
Jackie Walli
Amy Weber
Heather Borland
Steven Bailey
Bryan Wills
LaVada Washington
Sue Donohue
Diane Fidelibus


Sassy Samurai's

Tonya Anderson-Russell
Beth Bates
Valentine Cabell
Teresa Frazier
Terri Gehr
Marty Nesser
Aletha Shipley
Paul Smith
Jeff Spain
Jim Wyant

Advising Services

Marilyn Baehr
Sandra Downing
Sheri Harrington
Sue Judd
Riki Lawrence
Janet McDermott
Allen Parsons
Michele Welsh
Mary Whitt
Arlene Wilson