Skip to main content
Register for Spring 2016

IRB Members

The IRB is composed of 5 voting members.; Non-voting members may also be appointed. All appointments are made by Executive Memorandum and reported to OHRP.

The IRB is composed of members with varying backgrounds and expertise in special areas to provide complete and adequate review of the research. Committee members should possess not only broad specific competence sufficient to comprehend the nature of the research, but also other competencies necessary for judgments as to acceptability of the research in terms of College regulations, relevant law, ethical standards, and standards of professional practice.

The IRB must include both men and women, at least one member whose primary concerns are in nonscientific areas, and at least one member who is not otherwise affiliated (either directly or through immediate family) with the College.

No person shall be excluded from serving on the IRB based on sex, race, color or national origin.

Committee Meetings
The IRB Committee meets regularly on the second Monday of every month. Meeting dates are subject to change. Exempt Protocols can be submitted at any time for the Chair’s review. If the Chair determines that the Exempt Protocol needs to be reviewed by the IRB committee, it will be submitted at the next regularly scheduled IRB meeting. Full Protocols should be submitted at least two weeks before the regular monthly meeting. The early submission dates are indicated below.

Early Submission Meeting Date           
January 2 January 16
February 2 February 9
February 23 March 9
March 30 April 13
April 27 May 11
May 27 June 8
June 1 July 13
July 23 August 10
August 31 September 14
September 28 October 12
October 26 November 9
November 30 December 14

IRB Administrator

Thomas Lyons
Office of Institutional Effectiveness