Skip to main content
Register for Spring Semester


Feedback from the Commission

13 sp

Accreditation teams are working through the Systems Appraisal 2014 Feedback Report, recently arrived from the Higher Learning Commission. The report is the HLC's critique of Columbus State's distinctive mission, context, and goals as they were presented in the 2013 Systems Portfolio.

An HLC team assessed the college's work in each of the nine AQIP Categories, identifying what the team sees as the institution's strengths and opportunities for improvement.

Also included are a Strategic and Accreditation Issues Analysis, which identifies the highest strategic priorities for the institution's future, and an Appraisal Summary that captures the institution's developmental maturity in the nine AQIP Categories.   

Second Portfolio Debuts

Columbus State's second Systems Portfolio has been submitted to the Higher Learning Commission, the college's accreditor. The document is a key element in the college's accreditation pathway, the Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP).

A year in the making, the 124-page report answers approximately 140 questions about the college's processes, results and improvements in nine organizational categories.

Also embedded in the questions is evidence that demonstrates how Columbus State meets the five Criteria of accreditation.

Nine three-person teams - two faculty members/one staff – were led by Project Managers Antoinette Perkins, Ingrid Emch and Bruce Massis, with faculty fellow Greg Goodhart, acting as overall Project Manager.   

From its beginning in 1973, Columbus State Community College has been accredited by The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCAHLC).  The NCAHLC is an independent corporation and one of six regionHigher Learning Commission Mark of Affiliational accrediting institutions of higher learning in the United States.  

Columbus State is accredited to award more than 120 associate degrees or certificates in areas of business, health, health/public services and engineering technologies. Graduates of the Arts and Sciences Division complete the first two years of a bachelor's degree and can transfer to another college or university to earn a bachelor's degree.

In 2006, the college started on a new accreditation pathway, AQIP, the Academic Quality Improvement Program. Created by the Higher Learning Commission, AQIP uses the Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) model to measure organizational performance and plan improvements. 

In December 2012, the Higher Learning Commission reaffirmed Columbus State's accreditation through 2019-20.

For more information about accreditation contact the Office of Academic Affairs at 287-2639.

Other Accreditations and Memberships

Some of the Career and Technical Programs are accredited by professional associations and agencies as listed below.

  • Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and  Information Management Education (CAHIIM)
  • Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health
  • Committee on Accreditation for Respiratory Care Education Programs  
  • National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory  Sciences (NAACLS)
  • National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence  (ASE)
  • National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation  (NATEF)
  • Association of Collegiate Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP)
  • American Council of Construction Education (ACCE)
  • Professional Landscape Network (PLANET)
  • Federal Aviation Administration
  • Accreditation Board of Engineering and Technology, Inc (ABET)
  • American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation
  • American Veterinary Medical Association
  • Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and  Activities
  • Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology
  • Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs
  • Accreditation Review Committee on Education in Surgical Technology
  • Accrediting Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration
  • Commission for Accreditation of  Dietetics Education
  • Dietary Managers Association
  • The State Medical Board of Ohio
  • Council for Standards in Human Service Education (CSHSE)
  • National Association for the Education of Young Children
  • Technician–Paramedic Program State of Ohio EMS Agency
  • American Bar Association  Standing Committee on Legal Assistants
  • Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN)
  • Ohio Department of Health NATCEP Unit
  • Ohio Board of Nursing